The personal safety and security of every member of the university community is of paramount concern to all at the University of North Texas. In keeping with this concern, each year the university publishes a report informing the campus about programs and services to enhance campus security, crime statistics and student disciplinary referrals for certain crime-related conduct.
Texas state law requires anyone who suspects child abuse or neglect to report those suspicions to the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) or to a local law enforcement agency, including the University of North Texas Police department. Any person who has reason to believe that a child's physical or mental health or welfare has been adversely affected by abuse or neglect by another person must immediately report the suspected abuse or neglect. This obligation applies to ALL members of the university community, including faculty, administrators, staff and even students. In addition, there are special reporting obligations for certain employees defined in law as "professionals." "Professionals," including "teachers, nurses, doctors, day-care employees and employees of a clinic or health care facility that provides reproductive services," have a specific duty to make a report not later than 48 hours after suspecting that a child has been or may be abused or neglected or a victim of indecency with a child. A "child" is a person under 18 years of age.
Neither Texas law nor any university policy allows individuals to delegate the duty to report child abuse or neglect. While employees are encouraged to report incidents of abuse or suspected abuse to a supervisor or responsible university official, your first obligation is to protect the child by reporting to law enforcement or DFPS. Any person who knowingly fails to file a report of suspected child abuse or neglect commits a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 180 days in prison and/or a fine of up to $2,000. One can contact:
• UNT Police at 911 to report and emergency or 940-565-3003
• Local law enforcement in your area
• Texas Department of Family and Protective Services at its toll-free, 24-hour Family Violence Hotline at 1 (800) 252-5400
If you would like a brochure sent to you, please contact the Vice President for Student Affairs at 1155 Union Circle #305358, Denton, Texas 76203-1274 or call 940.565.4909. You can also pick-up a copy of the brochure by stopping by the office of the Division of Student Affairs in Suite 202 of the Hurley Administration Building.