UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

University of North Texas

Division of Student Affairs


The UNT Distinguished Lecture Series

UNT brings the DLS

The University of North Texas Distinguished Lecture Series is chartered as a university-wide standing Administrative Committee. The objective is to provide the university and greater communities with a variety of distinguished lecturers and speakers that will bring significant interest, visibility and added prestige to the University of North Texas.

Prestigious speakers

The selection of speakers will be conducted on a consensus basis, after suggestions have been sought throughout the university. The selected speakers must reflect a wide public recognition and appeal. Under no circumstances will the Series be used to promote the discipline of any particular academic unit, department, school or college within the University.

Your committee

The Series will be administered by a committee composed of three (3) faculty representatives appointed by the Faculty Senate, three (3) staff representatives appointed by the UNT Staff Council, six (6) students appointed by the UNT Student Government Association, and one permanent ex officio faculty and/or staff representative to serve as administrative assistance to the committee, appointed by the Vice President for Student Affairs. The President of the UNT Student Government Association or his/her designee shall serve as chair.

Recent Speakers

Carl Bernstein and PJ O’Rourke: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House

October 5, 2016

With 2016 quickly coming to a close and voting season quickly approaching, the importance of knowledge of voting rights and deciding on a presidential candidate is becoming a prominent topic of conversation in America. Political commentators and renowned journalists Carl Bernstein and PJ O’Rourke have endured years of journalism and political scandal and have crafted their combined 50 years of experience to present: “Carl and PJ: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House”, an interactive, moderated forum which discusses presidential candidates and voter knowledge in a light-hearted, slapstick manner. Between Bernstein and O’Rourke’s quick wit and colorful sense of humor lies an important underlying message of importance regarding voter registration, exercising the right to vote, and candidate education.


Distinguished Lecture Series

Sign up with DLS

Back to Top

Never miss a speaker! Sign up, and let us remind you.

Suggest a Speaker

Back to Top

Who would you want to meet on campus? Submit your suggestion.