When Student Veteran Services’ (SVS) director James Davenport was hired eight years ago, he made a promise.

“I told Dr. Melissa McGuire (Associate Vice President for Student Affairs) that if she hired me I would make sure UNT earned the gold in the Veteran Education Excellence Recognition Award (VEERA),” Davenport said.

Last week, he kept that promise.

“I’m so proud of the commitment Jim has made to ensure our student veterans experience a successful transition to UNT, but also succeed while at UNT,” said McGuire. “Programs like the SALUTE Honor Society, the veteran-specific graduation ceremony, Student Veteran Association and Omega Delta Sigma, and numerous lunches with employers to help veterans secure employment after graduation have all helped us reach this designation. Jim, and the rest of the team in Student Veteran Services, care so much for our veterans and it’s great to see their hard work recognized.”

group photo of SVS staff

The award from the Texas Veterans Commission recognizes higher education institutions that excel in providing programs and services that significantly contribute to the academic achievement of student veterans.

“I am very proud that I was one of the many people who helped facilitate this award,” said Davenport. “This was a very long road for the SVS team and all the departments that assist us every day on campus to achieve this honor.”

certificate of VEERA gold

Texas Veterans Commission visited campus on Dec. 1 to personally present UNT with its gold award. TVC provides three levels of recognition: gold, silver and bronze. This is the first time UNT reached gold status.

“UNT has done an amazing job for its veterans,” said TVC Vice Chairperson Kimberlee Shaneyfelt. “To see this level of commitment from across the university is truly remarkable and something to be proud of.”

UNT is regularly recognized as a military friendly school. Click here to see full list of 2022 Texas Veterans Commission’s Education Excellence Award recipients.

group photo of DSA staff members and TVC staff members