The UNT Division of Student Affairs celebrated the hard work and dedication of staff members and division partners at the annual DSA Awards Luncheon on April 23. The event was presented by the DSA Staff Development Committee.

“Today we get to recognize the efforts of our staff over the course of the last year and the many accomplishments we have experienced as a division,” said Vice President for Student Affairs Elizabeth With. “Thank you for the hard work everyone has put toward our students’ success this year. Never underestimate the impact you have on the lives of our students.”

The award winners were:

UNT DSA Awards Luncheon 2018New Administrative Professional of the Year
Mary Chandler, Dean of Students Office

Administrative Professional of the Year
Lisa Garcia, University Union Business Office

New Service Provider of the Year
Raylon Dukes, Housing and Residence Life

Service Provider of the Year
Michael Webb, Housing and Residence Life

UNT DSA Awards Luncheon 2018New Staff Member of the Year
Myriam Reynolds, Counseling and Testing Services

Staff Member of the Year
Tracy Frier, Student Activities

Outstanding Supervisor
Lindsey Fields, Housing and Residence Life

Graduate Assistant of the Year
Marisol Gonzalez-Villarreal, Housing and Residence Life             

Excellence in Assessment Award
Orientation and Transition Programs

UNT DSA Awards Luncheon 2018Outstanding Collaboration Award
Division of Student Affairs Special Projects and Engagement

Outstanding Innovation Award
Counseling and Testing Services - Housing Counselors

Outstanding Program Award
Student Money Management Center, Financial Intelligence Training Series              

Ambassador of the Year
Jasmine Gunn

UNT DSA Awards Luncheon 2018Outstanding Customer Service Award
Rachel Grimes, Student Money Management Center

Marge Jimmerson Safety Award
Danielle Champagne, Student Money Management Center

Off-Campus Friend of Student Affairs Award
Be the Match Program

On-Campus Friend of Student Affairs Award
Heather Allen, Human Development and Family Science         

Rodney Mitchell Eagle Spirit Award
Renee McNamara, Dean of Students Office

Outstanding Department
Student Money Management Center

Rodney Mitchell Eagle Spirit AwardAt the luncheon, a special tribute was paid to the late Rodney Mitchell, associate dean of students, who passed away in February. Erik With, district director for Congressman Michael Burgess, recounted his own memories of Mitchell and read a statement from Burgess stating, “I am grateful for the legacy Rodney has left for UNT.” A special recognition was given to Mitchell’s widow, Melanie, a UNT staff member.

“Rodney was a special person who made us all feel special,” said Elizabeth With. “He was wholeheartedly committed to UNT, the division and our students. He would do anything to ensure a student’s success, or even the success of one of us. There is no question he bled green. It’s for this reason, and many others, it was only fitting to honor Rodney and his many contributions to the division by renaming our Eagle Spirit Award the Rodney Mitchell Eagle Spirit Award. It’s my hope that each year before giving this award, we remember Rodney.”

Congratulations to all of the award winners and thank you to everyone in the division for your outstanding work.

View a photo gallery of the event here.

Visit DSA News for the latest happenings and successes in the Division of Student Affairs.
Contact: Ray Willhoft, 940-565-2464,