Get Involved

The University of North Texas Student Government Association, much like our country's branches of government, is composed of three main branches: the Executive Branch, the Legislative Branch, and the Judicial Branch. Together these three branches work to represent the undergraduate student body here at the University of North Texas.

The Student Senate

The Student Senate is a body of forty-five Senators made up of representatives from each of the colleges. The seats are allocated based on the population of each college. The Student Senate is the legislative body of the association.

How to become a member: Senators are elected in the spring semester to serve their term the following year. They must campaign and win the popular vote, much like the Student Government Association President and Vice President. Once the new academic year begins, open Senate seats are available for appointment. More information regarding appointment can be found at

Senate Code of Conduct

To speak to one of your representatives come into the SGA office during one of the Senator's office hours.

The Election Board

The Election Board shall have the power to rule on matters pertaining to Elections, including but not limited to: interpretations and violations of the Election Code, questions of candidate eligibility not covered in Article XIII, Section 1A of these Bylaws, candidate and Referendum Party complaints and concerns, questions of referendum eligibility, filing dates and deadlines, and the certification of any election results.

How to become a member: The Election Board shall consist of six members and an Election Commissioner appointed by the SGA President. Applications are available around the start of the academic year.

The Executive Branch

The Executive Branch is comprised of nine (9) executive board members: Student Government Association President, Student Government Association Vice President, Chief of Staff, Intern Program Director, Outreach Director, Governmental Affairs Director, Student Allocations Director, Raupe Travel Grant, Student Allocations Director, Eagle’s Nest, and Communications Director.

How to become a member: The Student Government Association President and Vice President are elected annually by the student body. These members must campaign, attend a debate and town hall, and win the popular vote in order to hold office. The remaining executive members are appointed by the President and Vice President through a rigorous application and interview process. These members are then presented to the Senate who must approve their appointment. 

Executive Policy Manual

To speak to a member of the executive branch come into the SGA office during one of the executive member’s office hours.

The Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch is made up of our Supreme Court and the Advocate General. This branch works to uphold the integrity of UNT SGA’s Bylaws and Constitution.

How to become a member: This branch is appointed by the Student Government Association President and approved by Senate. Applications are available around the start of the academic year.

The Intern Program

The Intern Program is one of the best leadership experiences available to first-year and transfer students at UNT. In this program, 20 diverse student leaders go through intensive leadership training, learn how to put on large-scale events on campus, and build strong relationships with one another in preparation to become part of the next generation of student leaders on our campus. Working extremely close with the Executive Branch and Student Senate, they aide in the development of special projects and legislation to improve UNT's campus. 

How to become a member: Intern applications are made available to first year and transfer students over the summer and the beginning of the fall semester. Applicants complete an application and interview process prior to be selected by the Intern Program Director and the program’s 5 mentors.

External Committees

Thank you for expressing interest in the Student Government Association’s external committees! If you are looking to get involved this semester, here is a list of open committees that we would love for you to apply for. For committee descriptions, Click Here.


Contact Us